all posts | rss feed

7DRL 2023 - day 2 and 3

posted

I was a bit busy yesterday, so I'm combining days 2 and 3 into one post. Now the game is actually a game, with a health system, combat, and score! Two items spawn per level, and the player can hold up to three items, though most of the items aren't implemented yet. You can attack monsters which sends them back to the spawn point. However, there is attack cooldown, so if you get cornered, you're pretty much done for.

I've defined the four monster classes, and later levels may spawn more than one of each class:

  • Hellhound - chases player directly
  • Serpent - tries to get ahead of player
  • Wizard - gets in between player and furthest monster
  • Ghost - randomly moves nearby player

I'm planning on six items:

  • Elixir - reset attack cooldown
  • Potion - heal 1 HP
  • Bomb - detonates after eight turns, hurts monsters and player if nearby
  • Portal - teleports player somewhere random
  • Arrow - attacks monsters in a certain direction
  • Shield - protects against the next attack, but cannot attack until destroyed

Here's a demo if you want to try it out. The spacebar skips a turn, and 1, 2, and 3 use items.

I've also done some work to make the site more mobile friendly. I really should set up a script to generate these webpages so I can make changes to the site layout without having to update every page manually. If I do, expect a post about that!